I DON’T WANT TO LOOK BACK AND THINK “I COULD HAVE EATEN THAT”

IMG_4670

I am sure on this blog there will be nothing new that has not been said about paleo or no new amazing recipe, but I do know that every story is different because everyone is different. My story is not that unique I am sure, but it is my story non the less. I have been health conscious since the end of high school, realizing that I liked how I felt and my body looked when I ate better. However, my eyes are bigger than my stomach and I did not always eat healthy. Add in college dorm food, plus a college grocery budget one does not always eat the most healthy choices. I do think I am the only person out of my family that has lost weight and kept it off since highschool. I was never overweight, and have been in athletics and excelled in them my whole life. I just thought that doing sports meant I could eat whatever I wanted and not gain weight. Or there was always a holiday, weekend, birthday, or hard work out that justified the Coldstone bowl of ice cream;). I am a firm believer in not complaining about something that is within your control to fix. Weight, health, and eating is one of those things. I do not (try not) to stress about things that are outside of my control and work on the things that are. My husband and I have been together for just over 4 years. We started eating Paleo 1.5 years ago. We both have seen and felt such great changes that we will never go back to not eating this way. It is not that we are religious about it, but you can feel such a difference in your life that you can not imagine going back. Like others, we were motivated to try by the story of one of our friends and seeing the life transformation he went through. We thought, hey if he can do it, we can do it. This friend and us are still going strong. I have know for years that I do not do well when I eat dairy… probably from so many girl night ice cream binges. So this was an easier transition for me. Once you start eating mostly organic and Paleo you really start to look at your food and how that food is made and where it comes from. Paleo is not a cure all for diseases but coming from a family where both my parents have had some type of cancer, I want to do everything to prevent myself and my loved ones from going through that again. This is one of the greatest reasons for eating a healthy diet. Another is that food brings great joy to so many people. I love to cook and bake… mostly bake. And who doesn’t love to come and eat scones and drink coffee on the weekends? Added bonus when i tell them there is not sugar or dairy in these scones! I love entertaining, a trait I received from my mother. Even though we live in a tiny space, I still love having people over and sharing our home and food with people.

So all that being said, this is a little way that I can open up my home and share with everyone my passion for food, friendship, and love. And maybe the occasional fitness adventure! Thanks for reading and listening!

Biking up Logan Pass, Montana
Biking up Logan Pass, Montana
Leave a Reply

